Encore with no coals, mostly ash!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mumph32

Nov 30, 2009
Central, VT
I'm a noob here at the site so I hope not to make too many lame comments.

We're running a Vermont Castings Encore, and have been for six years. Last year we had it tuned up extensively by a former VC employee. He put all new guts and gaskets in it, including a catalytic converter. It ran great all fall, winter and spring of last year.

Now it's burning at low temps, has trouble radiating good heat, and generates very few coals. In fact we mostly get ash at the end of a night. We NEVER have a nice bed of coals. The ash pan also has to be emptied infrequently. The ash on top of the ash pan is brownish, not the grey we're used to. I did try to clean up the stove in the early fall by vacuuming it out and such.

What the heck is going on with the stove? Is it the stove or possibly the wood? Did I screw it up when cleaning it? Can higher moisture content wood create this scenario? Thank god cold weather hasn't struck yet.

Welcome to the forum. My Encore did the same thing. I found that knocking it around with the poker good before you reload and burning the fire hot for at least a little while helps.

mumph32 said:
I'm a noob here at the site so I hope not to make too many lame comments.

We're running a Vermont Castings Encore, and have been for six years. Last year we had it tuned up extensively by a former VC employee. He put all new guts and gaskets in it, including a catalytic converter. It ran great all fall, winter and spring of last year.