End of season stove shut-down

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

BradH70

Feeling the Heat
Feb 13, 2011
South West NH
Since I am new to the ways of the pellet stove, I was wondering what all the seasoned pellet users did at the end of the season when the stove gets shut down and there are pellets still in the hopper. Do you run the stove out of pellets, or try to clean them all out of the hopper, or just leave them in there 'till next season?

I would think that the humidity during the mid-late summer months that the pellets would absorb might make it difficult to get a fire going come October or November.

i strongly recommend not leaving pellets in the hopper all summer..for the very reason you mention.

Delta-T, about that motto, I thought it was something different.

Other than the motto thing I agree you remove the pellets from the stove, then you do a full stem to stern cleaning (including the venting). Then the air intake and vent get plugged, the firebox walls get a coating of an oil (there are many that get used) applied in two coatings, the second coating is very light and applied after wiping the first application down. Then get a dissectant and place it in the burn pot.

That should prevent rust from humidity.

You also need to put a reminder in the hopper so that prior to burning you remove the dissectant, the vent and air intake plugs.

SMokey- it was different...we change our motto frequently...keeps peeps on their toes.