Englander 17-VL top temperature??? Or something similar?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ScottK

Oct 5, 2012
HI Begreen. And hi to all. Total newbie here, but with luck, some of you might offer to take the time to answer this question for me..

I have found the Englander 17-VL. It looks like the perfect stove for our needs (which is primarily as an emergency grid-down heat source). It is small with close clearances. Perfect. Except for one thing: Due to the top plate construction, I'm guessing I can't cook on it.

If anyone knows otherwise, or knows how hot it DOES get on top, please let me know.

Alternatively, if anybody knows another stove of similar dimensions and similar clearances but that CAN be cooked on, please, please let me know. The Jotul 602 comes to mind but it's clearances to combustibles are a fair bit higher.

Many thank, in advance for your help.

Scott

Just to be clear, our home is small so I need this to take up as little space possible. I don't mind spending the extra for double-wall pipe, but looking to avoid having to create the metal spacers around the wall (partly due to a window in the way). The stove will go in a corner of the living room, with 3/4" thick wood paneling.