Englander 25-PDV HEat Output

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris04626

Minister of Fire
I am burning on of my leftover bags of pellets of Pennitons

bottom settings at 5-4-1 upped the level from D to C top 2 settings are on 4-5

I am only getting 160-170 output is this close to normal Stove is a 2008 model

Chris04626 said:

I'm no expert but that sounds low to me, is it possible the pellets are a bit funky (being last years)? Were the burning hotter last year?

Chris04626 said:

Chris, I think it sounds about right. Keep in mind it`s not a large stove and Englander doesn`t rate the BTU`s too high, maybe 35K?
Right now I`m in heat mode d and at those same settings I`m getting 150+ after an extended burn. (2 hrs+)
And IMO the PDVC is a bit slow to get hot . I`m using a new oven thermometer placed over the the 3rd air hole on the left (hottest side) .
I found the pellets , (brand, moisture, etc)from one year to the next inconsistant and can make a big difference in the temps. I`d also double check the accuracy of your thermometer.

thanks i tested the temp within about a half hour, but i can tell ya swithing from d to c was like night and day comparing the feel of the heat coming out. I could hardly feel it on D

Yeah you have to give it some time to stabilize. Once the entire stove gets hot it throws even more heat out the front.