1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Englander 25-PDVC Problem

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Partsier, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. Partsier

    Partsier New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    My stove works great.... On full heat!
    Basically, I can turn the onboard thermostat to 1-9 (1 for fuel and 9 for the blower) And this thing still feeds pellets as if the thermostat was on 9-9. If it happens to get to 15 degrees outside, this is just fine, however here in NC it does not get that cold, and I just cant suffer a 77 degree house. 70 is good! The stove was purchased in jan of 2009.
    After throwing me a couple error codes from time to time, i went in the back to investigate...
    I tried tinkering around with the diagraphm thing in the back, to no avail. It either runs on 100% or turn it off!

    Anyone had any similar issue?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,095
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    That controller isn't a thermostat.

    If you want less heat out of that unit on the number 1 heat level, you have to lower the low burn setting.

    Call England and tell them that their stove is producing more heat on heat level one than you need.

    They should ask you to check a few things for them and then they will likely have a solution for you to try.

    It is possible that the stove controller is operating in the wrong mode or that the low burn settings have been changed.
  3. CladMaster

    CladMaster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    203
    Loc:
    Maine
    I did until I did this ...... (see below)

    Before you make any changes to the stove, I would do a complete reset of the control board...

    To do a control board reset...

    Do this when the stove is cold.

    Unplug the stove from the power outlet.

    Plug the power lead back in.

    You must press and hold the bottom 3 buttons all at the same time within 4 seconds and wait 3 seconds and then release buttons.

    Wait 5 - 10 seconds for the F5 readout display to go blank.

    Unplug power lead - wait 5 seconds

    Plug power lead back in and press both the room air temp buttons at the same time within 4 - 5 seconds, you should now see a letter (A, b, c or d) in the left digital display, you need to change this to d using the buttons below that number, once set to 'd' wait 10 - 15 seconds then unplug the power again and wait 5 seconds.

    Plug power back in, then set the lower three (3) buttons to read 6 4 1 from left to right.

    Clean out the stove and reload with pellets and fire it up. Set the heat range to 2. Set the Air room blower speed to 3 or 4 and then leave the stove alone for 60 - 90 minutes.
  4. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,095
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    England really needs to know about these situations.
  5. Partsier

    Partsier New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    I guess I could have explained myself better. Number 1 isnt throwing too much heat. It throws the same heat on 1 as it does on 9. I have timed the top auger. on number one, it comes on every 7 seconds, and stays active for 3 seconds. on number 9 it comes on every 7 seconds, and stays active for 3 seconds. Thank you clad, I will attempt the controller restart this evening and get back with the results!
  6. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,095
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    I'll say it one more time England needs to know about this before you reset the stove.
  7. MCPO

    MCPO Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,216
    Loc:
    western Ma , close to NY state border
    I agree with Smokey about contacting Englanders first.
    It`s not like you won`t be able to get to them right away, albeit maybe a 15-20 min wait on the phone. With their usual excellent personal phone service they will stay with you and walk you thru the problem solving process based on your particular stove issue , model, and serial # . It`s quite possible you could have the same stove model as another but with a different controller or it`s program slightly altered. The serial # is the key.
    h2ochild likes this.
  8. Pweeny

    Pweeny New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Loc:
    Pennsylvania
    Certainly call the manufacturer as suggested. I will just tell you that I just installed the same stove about 2 weeks ago and had posted about the same problem. I performed Clads tip one day, the stove worked perfect that night, a nice low burn on low setting. The next night I had to do it again, somehow it defaulted back to the A and 8-8 settings that I had before. The second time it stuck and the stove works like a dream about a week or so now.

    On another note we had a high pitched hum/squeal that I researched on the forums and it was fixed with a little silicon at the side of two holes on the bottom of the unit just as the forums said.

    I am on to my last issue which is I smell smoke every time I start it. I have sealed all the stovepipe with silicon...I am onto the Dollar Bill test tomorrow. I'm hoping that is it!

    Thanks to all who post their helpful hints here.
  9. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,095
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    That one might be a bit harder to nail down. with the lights off and a good strong flash light and only during start up, watch the vent starting at the adapter, other places to watch are the clean out tee cap, the saddle joint on the tee, and along the air intake where the igniter wires enter the firebox.

    Good luck.
  10. Pweeny

    Pweeny New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Loc:
    Pennsylvania
    Thank you! I'll keep you posted!
  11. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Is the jumper wire installed correctly?

    Sounds like the jumper isnt there and it thinks it should be at Low fire?

Share This Page