Englander vs Ashley Imperial

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dondude

Dec 7, 2007
marine city mi
I've been using an old ashley imperial for the last 5 years to heat my 2200 sq ft home. Works great lots of heat paid 220 bucks for it. How much wood would i save switching over to a englander 30? I've got 6 acres of oak and have never cut a live tree yet, just using dead and fallen trees so far. Plenty of wood on hand. Just wondering if I'd get better burn times and use less wood with new stove?

It would just be a guess, but folks often report using 25-30% less wood. As long as you are burning totally dry wood, it will also keep your flue a lot cleaner too. However, there is no automatic thermostat like on the Ashley and it will take a smaller (20") length log cut. Need a Blaze King to retain those features.

Our house is not as large as yours but is a drafty old thing. We heated with the Ashley for a good many years and it kept us fairly comfortable using 6-7 cords per year with a couple years a tad more. Two years ago we put in a Woodstock Fireview and it took 2 years to burn 6 cords. So we just say we heat with 50% less wood but the best thing is that we stay much, much warmer in the house. I'm not familiar with the Englander so can't compare there, but it is truly amazing how much better the Fireview is than the Ashley.....and it seems so small too!