1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Enlgander 25-PDV - Blowing cold, small flame, slow feed

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Steph2078, Feb 18, 2013.

  1. Thaddius Wenderoth

    Thaddius Wenderoth Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    249
    That's why they sound like chit!!!!
    briansol, kenstogie and SmokeyTheBear like this.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Steph2078

    Steph2078 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Loc:
    MA
    Yes it was the vacuum tube... fixed that... but has not fixed the problem :(
  3. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,539
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Have you checked your gaskets and how are you with electricity?

    Has your stove ever operated on a t-stat? A low fire on higher settings can be caused by a stove thinking it is on a t-stat and there being no t-stat to call for heat thus it sits in maintain fire mode (heat range 1).
  4. Steph2078

    Steph2078 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Loc:
    MA
    Stove has never been on a T-stat....

    We've been checking everything but will go over gaskets again :) thanks!
    My husband works in the Electrical field. .... he's been working on it... I'm just the writer! LOL :)
  5. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,539
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    There should be a jumper on the control board IIRC if there is no stat, hopefully it hasn't fallen off or loosened.

    I'd jump the vacuum switch just for giggles.
  6. imacman

    imacman Guest

    I agree w/ Smokey. If the stove is not on a stat, there has to be a small jumper wire inserted into the connectors where a stat wire would be. It's on the back of the control board. If the wire isn't there, the stove will always run on lo fire.

    Look at diagram #4 on P/ 22....bottom right corner of control board...."wall thermostat". That is where the jumper wire needs to be, and check that the screws are tight.
  7. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Any update?
    Steph2078 likes this.
  8. Thaddius Wenderoth

    Thaddius Wenderoth Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    249
    Fingers crossed.jpg
    Steph2078 likes this.
  9. Steph2078

    Steph2078 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Loc:
    MA
    Wires are all connected... cleaned and re- cleaned every part of the stove..... starting up again now....
  10. Steph2078

    Steph2078 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Loc:
    MA
    Fail..... still doing the same. Small fire, feeding but very slow even on high feed rate...

    2 New Auger motors are on their way... but thinking it's the control board? We are at a loss!! grrr..

    Thanks for all your help everyone!
  11. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Well, at this point I think you need to have a new board put in. I'd give Englander one last call though.....ask whoever answers if Mike Holton can take your call and tell him everything you've tried. If he's busy, ask to get his voicemail and ask him to call you back.

    But man, that sure does sound like the stat connection is bad or the jumper isn't making contact or something like that...the stove sounds like it's in lo-fire all the time.
    Steph2078 likes this.
  12. Steph2078

    Steph2078 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Loc:
    MA
    At least we know the fire alarms work...... 2am this morning the stove started pouring smoke out of the two holes on the bottom front. Not fun to wake up to that!!
  13. Thaddius Wenderoth

    Thaddius Wenderoth Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    249
    Those are not supposed to be holes. Those are supposed to be two bolts holding the fire pot in place. If these bolts are missing that would explain why you have a bad flame as the fire pot will not be tight to the gasket and the air will not be directed through the pellets. Are you sure those are two holes and not two bolts? It is unlikely the bolts if in place would allow any smoke to escape from there.
  14. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,990
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    there are 2 square holes under there as well as the two bolt holes, im assuming this was where the smoke was escaping.

    i see you were able to talk to my tech department this morning sorry i wasnt able to take youd call myself but i was extremely tied up at the time. if you are still having issues please let me know.
    DexterDay and Thaddius Wenderoth like this.
  15. Steph2078

    Steph2078 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Loc:
    MA
    Thanks Mike,

    yes that is where the smoke was escaping. I did speak with Warren a couple times today. (He was great) We went over the whole entire stove, everything functions in test mode) I took off both Sensors to make sure they were clear, everything put back the way it was. We thought we got it working again but then the top auger stopped functioning. Seems to be a wiring issue as the wires from the bottom auger got the top working as well. There is something going on with the shut-off sensor on the rt hand side of the stove (or wires to it). It works, then doesn't. So I think we need a new sensor at this point?
    Stove started up again, fire starts, blower turns on and it's just not feeding enough, or now malfunctions even with a full burn pot of pellets and stove will shut itself down. Another COLD night in our home :(

    I'd even take 65 for heat at this point! :)
  16. Michael6268

    Michael6268 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    424
    Loc:
    Grafton NH/Upper Valley
    Those two "sqare holes" are the airwash intake, not bolt holes......
  17. Thaddius Wenderoth

    Thaddius Wenderoth Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    249
    My bad! I was thinking of my PDVC.
  18. Panhandler

    Panhandler Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    607
    Loc:
    WV Northern Panhandle
    PDVCs have 'em,too. Underneath bottom lip just under left edge of door and under hinges.
  19. Thaddius Wenderoth

    Thaddius Wenderoth Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    249
    Looking for it...
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
  20. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,990
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    look under here, on both sides

    Attached Files:

    DexterDay likes this.
  21. Thaddius Wenderoth

    Thaddius Wenderoth Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    249
    Tada! Thanks Mike!
    [​IMG]
  22. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,990
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    no prob, BTW your floor protection is not to code, right side is too close to the edge by my eye.;)
  23. Thaddius Wenderoth

    Thaddius Wenderoth Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    249
    Working on it. If there were a better selection of double wall pipe in my area I would be a lot better off. That pad was there for my wood stove and I was unable to get the pellet stove to line up with the chimney in the ceiling with out being off center like that. Thanks for the heads up!
  24. Thaddius Wenderoth

    Thaddius Wenderoth Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    249
    And while we are taking friendly jabs.... Where the hell is my WiFi control board Mike?!;)
  25. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,990
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va

    working on it==c
    Thaddius Wenderoth likes this.

Share This Page