Enviro M55 Pellet Questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jbfrost912

Mar 23, 2011
southeastern nh
I'm still new to the pellet burning circuit and have only been burning for about six weeks. So far I am really liking the heat and can heat most of the house no problem.
I have been looking at some of the pellet burning charts and looking at the temps. I have been burning Maine's Choice, LG, and Spruce Pointe to try to figure out which
pellet(s) I want to burn this coming year. I was hoping to be able to do some more testing with other pellets, but the weather is getting warmer and the family just doesn't like the
house at 88' F. So here is what I have found with these pellets:
Spruce Pointe: Very clean and good heat.
LG: Clean and OK heat.
Maines Choice: Very dusty, small pieces, many fines, but hotter than the other two.

I was wondering if the reason the Maine's Choice are burning hotter is because they are burning more at time (because of the smaller size) or if the Spruce Pointe and LG need
more combustion air. All three are on the same setting.
The reason why I ask is beacause I had noticed with other people, the Spruce Pointe was burnning alot hotter.
I feel the Maine's Choice is going to be a high maintenance pellet and would rather clean less and burn more. Has anyone noticed if they have to tweak the softwood pellets more than
the hardwood or mixed pellets.
Any information would be helpful.
Thanks.

PS- I am trying to upload some pics of the install.