1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Enviro Milan; Is the motherboard gone?

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by BARTSFAM, Dec 30, 2012.

  1. BARTSFAM

    BARTSFAM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Loc:
    Central MA
    Today, my 11 year old daughter tried to plug her Nintendo DS into the power strip for my Milan.
    She ended up flipping the switch on the power strip by mistake, and she cut the power off to the pellet stove.
    She admits that she kind of panicked, and flipped the power strip switch back and forth to get the pellet stove working again. She flipped the switch back and forth several times. The pellet stove came back on, but then shut itself off.
    She told me what happend, and I found the #2 light blinking. I unplugged the motherboard, and hit the red reset button. I tried to restart the stove...and nothing happend. The board and controls light up, but nothing happens. The blower won't turn on, the auger won't turn. The light on the mother board blinks, and the control panel lights up. It indicates that the auger is working, but it's not...and I can press the button to move the heat level up and down, but everything appears dead.
    I did replace the fuse on the mother board with a new fuse...but still nothing. I think there is only one fuse on the system...

    Any other ideas?

    Thanks, Jim

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,121
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Look for a manual reset high limit it is likely tripped because the convection blower was cut off in full burn.

    Then turn the power strip off wait several seconds and turn it back on.

    See if that helps.
  3. BARTSFAM

    BARTSFAM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Loc:
    Central MA
    Yes. I hit that reset button....but still nothing....

    I also hooked the blower directly to an electric outlet, and it works fine that way.

    Just nothing is powering up, even though the control lights are on...
  4. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,121
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Well I wouldn't expect the auger to work if the combustion blower isn't turning.

    So you might want to try a direct connection to the combustion blower. Remember stove off, unplugged and the combustion blower disconnected from the stove's power system.

    When you "unplugged" the mother board are you talking about the ribbon cable or the power cord to the stove?

    After doing a reset for the high limit (#2 blinky) you are supposed to hit the on/off switch and that tech manual says it can take up to 30 seconds for the board to reset.
  5. BARTSFAM

    BARTSFAM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Loc:
    Central MA
    Before I hit the reset button, I unplugged the power cord, and then unplugged the ribbon cable. Then I hit the reset button, as it was popped out.
    Then I plugged everything back in..waited, and tried to restart...but nothing.

    I also did connect the combustion blower directly to an outlet, and the blower powered up, and worked fine...
  6. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,121
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Check your ribbon cable connections likely something isn't quite right there.
  7. BARTSFAM

    BARTSFAM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Loc:
    Central MA
    I took everything apart..reseated everything...and now, believe it or not, the auger is feeding I can hear it and see it, but the combustion blower is still dead.

    But, when I hook the blower directly to an outlet..it works. What the heck???
  8. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,121
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    I don't know the order of the connections on that ribbon cable so this is as far as I can go, maybe a PC with member stovelark might get you an answer.

    Perhaps jtakeman has more information than I do.

    Ribbon cables can be cantankerous when it comes to edge connections.

    I try to steer clear of them if at all possible.
  9. BARTSFAM

    BARTSFAM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Loc:
    Central MA
    Hey Smokey the Bear; are you there?
    I just wanted to tell you that I figured out the problem.
    You see, I am not very mechanically inclined, and I get my blowers mixed up. I tested the convection fan, not the combustion blower. When I tested the combustion blower outside of the stove..it was DEAD!! Why? Because it was full of dust and CRAP!! It would not turn on it's own. I could hear it straining and trying to turn. I cleaned it out as best I could, and sprayed some WD40 into it as best I could, altough I understand that it is sealed. Now, it turns and blows, although it is a little noisy. I guess it's time to get a new one, as this one is almost 5 seasons old. It has been kind of noisy as of late, but for now, I am back in business and cranking out some heat.

    Thanks again for the help!
  10. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,121
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    I'm here.

    Glad you now know your combustion blower versus your convection blower.

    Stuff happens.

Share This Page