Enviro Milan - keeping the glass clean and vibration noise down

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RAVinMetrowest

Sep 11, 2014
Central MA
I'm new to the pellet game as I had my insert installed 3 weeks ago and have had about 20 short time burns of a few hours each so far.

Over the weekend, I did a thorough cleaning of the stove, including removing the case 'brick' panels at the back of the firebox and vacuuming out the adjustable vent area behind the left panel.

After re-assembly, after the next burn, I've noticed that the smoke deposition on the glass has changed. I'm having trouble keeping the glass clean. I've attached a photo of how the smoke/fine ash is collecting on the glass. I assume this is related to how tight I have set the 3 brick panels when I re-assembled them. I do not see this as a functional problem - just a slight change in air flow.

I bought a bottle of Rutland Conditioning Glass Cleaner and am using it to clean the tough residues as well as leave a protective coating on the glass to promote easier cleaning in the future.

I know this insert is supposed to 'wash' the glass with air flow but I am getting more smoke/ash on the glass than expected.

I have what I feel is a healthy fire and am burning a bag of La Crete softwoods now.