Enviro Mini thermostat installation problems....

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by hemlock, Oct 14, 2012.

  1. hemlock

    hemlock
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    7
    Loc:
    east coast canada
    Hello,
    My 10 minute installation has become a bit more than that. Where the diagram claims there are two red wires to connect to the thermostat, there are not. There is a small connection place that I believe to be for the thermostat on the circuit board towards the bottom, opposite the 5A fuse. There is a jumper on this terminal, but no markings. The manual is of little help also. It simply says install thermostat wire here with a picture of a grayed out box. If anyone could offer any help, it would be appreciated. Thanks.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. jtakeman

    jtakeman
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,496
    Likes Received:
    1,571
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Hemlock, You on the right track. The green block with 2 terminals is where the stat wires go. Loosen the 2 screws and remove the jumper(bare cooper wire) and put the stat wires in and tighten the 2 screws.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. hemlock

    hemlock
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    7
    Loc:
    east coast canada
    Thanks. On the stat, there is a terminal with Y ang G - does it matter which terminal you connect to on the stat itself? Thanks again.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,363
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Usually the heat contacts on a t-stat are R and W sometimes also marked as Rh and W or Rh and W1. What stat did you get?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. hemlock

    hemlock
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    7
    Loc:
    east coast canada
    Hello,
    It is a Honeywell RTH221. There are five terminals total, on two separate blocks. One with two terminals marked Y and G, and one with three terminals marked Rh, Rc, and W. Would I connect Rh and W? Thanks very much.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,363
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Yes Rh and W.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. hemlock

    hemlock
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    7
    Loc:
    east coast canada
    There is also a jumper in between Rh and Rc. Do I leave that in place?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,363
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    You can leave it alone or remove it.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. hemlock

    hemlock
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    7
    Loc:
    east coast canada
    Thanks very much for your help.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,363
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    I hope that means it is working.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. hemlock

    hemlock
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    7
    Loc:
    east coast canada
    Kind of. It turns on, but in auto/off mode, it does not shut off once temp is reached. It seems to go into high/low mode instead. Any ideas? Thanks.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,363
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Yes some controllers when set to auto/off mode will pilot the stove in low heat mode for a fixed period of time after the t-stat has reached set point and if the t-stat doesn't call for heat then shut down. St. Croix calls this smart stat mode, I don't know what controller you have on your stove.

    The manual should talk about it. I have three modes on my stove auto, t-stat, manual auto allows the t-stat to start the stove and stop it once the set point is reached, t-stat is really hi/low, and manual is forget there is a t-stat and follow the on/off switch.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  13. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,363
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    According to your stove's manual you want the stove in on/off mode to get the action you are looking for, but I haven't found the information on how to change the modes yet. Also I see there is more than one model of the mini.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  14. hemlock

    hemlock
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    7
    Loc:
    east coast canada
    I just dug out the manual, and you are correct - the unit will idle for 30 minutes before going into shutdown when it is on auto/off mode. In light of this, I think it's working as it should. Thanks once again for all of your help. I hope I can return the favour some time.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. jtakeman

    jtakeman
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,496
    Likes Received:
    1,571
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    It will go to low fire(pilot) mode for approximately 30 minutes in auto off. If the stat doesn't call for heat again the unit will go to off and refire once the stat calls for heat again. This was Enviros way of helping the short cycling and getting around stats that don't have a swing adjustment. Also helps save the igniter.

    Edit: you beat me too it! :)
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  16. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,363
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Glad things are working Hemlock.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  17. Don2222

    Don2222
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    446
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Hello

    FYI
    I called Enviro in BC Canada and they said there is no way to bypass that 30 min low fire before shutdown. However they will be coming out with an upgraded panel that is WiFi ready sometime in the future.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  18. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,363
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Wonderful another thing to go wrong, perhaps the pellet service folks will go cruising for telltale pellet stove wifi connections to drum up some business :oops: .
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information