Enviro Omega- 3" or 4" exhaust?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

izula

Sep 9, 2008
New Mexico
Hello all-

I've got an Enviro Omega coming on Wednesday! Woohoo! It was an adventure trying to locate one... In all of my research, I recall there being a graph that indicated whether a 3" or 4" exhaust was required based on elevation and BTUs or something of the sort. Does anyone have a link or a direction that I can follow to find the information again? I'll be installing it myself (perfectly comfortable doing this - I'm a general contractor and a mechanical engineer) and so I'd like to do the install properly in terms of combustion exhaust flow, etc.
Thanks!

Generally if you have 15' of effective vent length you need to go to 4" pipe. Effective vent length is the sum of the running length + allowances for elbows & credit for vertical runs --- so a 90 degree elbow (or T) counts as 5 feet, a 45 degree elbow counts as 3 feet, a horizontal run is equal to 1 foot per foot of run and a vertical run of vent is equal to 1/2 foot per foot of actual vertical run.

To get your effective vent length:
A. Multiply the # of 90 degree elbows by 5
B. Multiply the # of 45 degree elbows by 3
C. Multiply the # of horizontal feet by 1
D. Multiply the # of vertical feet by 1/2
E. Add A thru D
F. If E is 15' or larger, use 4" pipe
G. Use 4" anyway, it will give you better draft and isn't that much more expensive. :)

To get your effective vent length:
A. Multiply the # of 90 degree elbows by 5
B. Multiply the # of 45 degree elbows by 3
C. Multiply the # of horizontal feet by 1