1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Enviro Omega Questions

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by deadeye316, Jan 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dougsey

    Dougsey Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    333
    Loc:
    Epping, NH
    The power cord touching the hot vent pipe is a nice touch.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. deadeye316

    deadeye316 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Loc:
    Amsterdam, ny
    They left me 4 screw in legs. lol Im thinking those should be on the stove? Also they gave me a break on install because my dad was getting one too. I will have the outside shots too. ALSO in the fire window the gasket i think its called the rope around the window there is a 1/2 inch cut right in the middle bottom does that matter
  3. deadeye316

    deadeye316 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Loc:
    Amsterdam, ny
    These are the pics of the screws, outside and that rope gasket

    Attached Files:

  4. deadeye316

    deadeye316 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Loc:
    Amsterdam, ny
    here are the rest

    Attached Files:

  5. deadeye316

    deadeye316 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Loc:
    Amsterdam, ny
    also the room i put it in is 20 by 13 with a big ceiling fan and 9 ft ceilings is that the omga to big for that room. The pipe they installed was 4 inches. Should I have them come back and fix the piping?

    The remote thermostat can that be placed in the same room since thats the room I dont want to over heat. If that is a waste of a remote thermostat should I just get a regular thermostat.
  6. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    You never did say how much they charged?
    that is about a 1 hours job to us nothing special
    but the CUSTOM venting in the house.


    Installers DID not:nothing special but the CUSTOM venting in the house.

    Did NOT READ THE manuals !!!!!!!!!!!
    Did not paint the pipe, Did not complete the set up of the stove (legs)
    Did not test the stove or Set the air with a Magnahilic

    Did not set up a thermostat or explain to the customer how a pellet stove works
    Did not Train the customer on how to clean and maintain the stove.



    m not sure if you MUST have the leveling legs in or not but I would feel better if they were on so you have an air gap under the stove sense you are on wood floor.

    The gasket looks OK by the photo hard to tell

    but I would like to see about 6" or more distance from the cap to that nice siding.
  7. deadeye316

    deadeye316 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Loc:
    Amsterdam, ny
    They charged 225 for the install. And 155 for the pipe
  8. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    This is BAD advise!
    YOU NEVER WANT TO RUN ANY KIND OF STOVE ON FULL the first fireing.
    Not good for the metal, stone, glass or the paint.

    Ash per Stove bright paint
    you must burn low to medium for a few hours for the paint to set
    The paint will we soft the first time it gets warmed up.
    then when you let it cool and heat up again the paint hardens. A lot like tempering.
  9. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
  10. deadeye316

    deadeye316 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Loc:
    Amsterdam, ny
    The manager called me and is having a different installer do my dads and come take a look at mine. He doesnt know why they didnt put the legs on it and they will look at that aswell. Also they are going to install a remote thermostat. They are going to take a look at the air control. One thing i mentioned that on the low setting the flame wasnt coming over the burn pot that much and they said it was normal that if on its lowest settings. Is that correct? I think when that other tech comes over looks the install over and puts the thermostat up everything will be fine. Hearthtools if only you were from NY.
  11. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    The stove on low will be a Small fire
    so a low fire in the burn pot is normal

    Like I said in the PM
    there is nothing wrong with your stove
    just the installers did not know their butt from a auger tube

    I emailed the enviro tech to look at this thread.
  12. deadeye316

    deadeye316 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Loc:
    Amsterdam, ny
    I have the stove on and at a comfortable 74 in the room on the number 2 setting. I was wondering if this might be nice to have


    It also tells humidity.digital thermomitor
  13. deadeye316

    deadeye316 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Loc:
    Amsterdam, ny
    The installer also said to run the stove dry every other ton? He said to help with the fines. Any thoughts on that
  14. deadeye316

    deadeye316 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Loc:
    Amsterdam, ny
    just wanted to say thanks and that i over reacted in part of them leaving without really showing me much I thought I was doing alot wrong. Right now in the living room it is 75. far kitchen 71 and upstairs 71. It is on low. It is 30 degrees outside hasn hit the cold temps yet but furnace hasnt ran all day.
  15. deadeye316

    deadeye316 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Loc:
    Amsterdam, ny
    any thoughts on what the installer said
    The installer also said to run the stove dry every other ton? He said to help with the fines. Any thoughts on that
  16. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    You may by mistake of not keeping your stove full run out of pellets
    It is a good idea to let it go dry and check the auger and if you have a lot of dust suck it out with a vac

    How is the stove doing?
    By now you figured out it is a heater.
  17. deadeye316

    deadeye316 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Loc:
    Amsterdam, ny
    lol yep its doing good. The humidifier actually helped out alot too. Its nice not hearing the furnace going on. I have been running it on and off till I get the thermostat hooked up. So far its keeping the whole house at a nice temperature.
  18. deadeye316

    deadeye316 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Loc:
    Amsterdam, ny
    Should there be ash or semi burnt pellets on the side of the burn liner. After 3 days im seeing some ash and very smalls burnt pellets on the edges is that ok. I read the manual and I already have the damper low. Also I am running the stove on the lowest setting too.
  19. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth

    Yes normal to have ash and what looks like unburned pellets at the side of the burn pot
    but when you clean the ash out and see a lot of Black rabbit like turd pellets then you dont have enough air.

    I really think with your install (4 90 deg turns) you air rod needs to be out about half way no matter what feed rate.

    YOU DO NOT HAVE TO CHANGE THE AIR ADJUSTMENT WITH EACH FEED RATE.
    Set it and leave. Have your dealer set it with a magnahelic.

    the speed of the combustion blower changes with each feed rate.
  20. deadeye316

    deadeye316 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Loc:
    Amsterdam, ny
    with all those 90 degree turns if the power goes out do you think even with the 5 ft pipe outside that the smoke will go in the house
  21. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    Unplug the stove when it it running and find out.
  22. deadeye316

    deadeye316 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Loc:
    Amsterdam, ny
    recap, they were going to put a remote thermostat on my omega. They were going to send a senior tech to my house after they did my dads install. They get to my dads and have no clue what im talking about. The guy searches his truck finds one comes to the house and takes the cover off to install. They didnt have the right voltage or something so couldnt do it. The air damper he didnt know either. So now i have to call the manager tomorrow since this is the first omega they installed. Im thinking I went with the wrong dealer lol
  23. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    All I have to say is see my post
    http://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/forums/viewthread/13651/#150555
  24. deadeye316

    deadeye316 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Loc:
    Amsterdam, ny
  25. deadeye316

    deadeye316 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Loc:
    Amsterdam, ny
    i did a search and cant find a post hearth had on thermostats and high low mode and on off mode. Was going to run on. off during the day so the 1st floor when im not home and high low when i am home.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page