1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

EnviroFire pellet stove technical question

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Pellet1, Oct 3, 2008.

  1. Pellet1

    Pellet1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    Congratulations, gutterboy. Looks like it will do the trick. Sure beats cutting all those pellets into 1/4" lengths. :cheese:

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    did you get the timer from your dealer?
  3. gutterboy2ca

    gutterboy2ca Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Loc:
    Hartland ,New Brunswick,Canada
    Yes, reluctantly i did Hearthtools, he gave me a price of his cost, then when i got there to pick it up he jacked the price another $28, i wasn,t impressed to be honest.If i did buizz like that in my line of work, i wouldn,t be in buizz very long.When i give someone a price for Rain Gutters, thats what it will be when i'm done the job, don,t matter if cost did go up between estimate time and Install time, thats life...Am i wrong on that?? Hmm...
    Ohh well, enough Ranting, i'ts in and so far it was a good move, i am now very satisfied with the performance of the EF3. If i could just get some stinkin Pellets now, lol....
  4. 56 chevtruck

    56 chevtruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    114
    Loc:
    nova scotia canada
    hi gutter all canadian tire must have different rules they told me no rainchecks.? i gots a little over 2 tons. 111bags. they went quick at dartmouth store.i had my thermometer right on top of stove where grate comes off the top.this surface is right on top of exchanger tube where you.
  5. pete324rocket

    pete324rocket Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    453
    Loc:
    albert county, new brunswick
    Just wanted to say hello to my fellow Maritimers.I've only grazed the content of your posts but seems you are comparing pellet quality. This is my second year of the pellet stove deal. Not sure if pellet quality changes from year to year but regardless of bag specs,the shaw brand is superior to the cozys by far as heat output goes.I just snagged 2 ton of Lignetics from Crappy Tire at that 4.99 price and waiting for buddy to deliver them but am very pleased if they are as good as other reports from the users here say.Saw on tv last nite on CBC about the pellet shortage.Shaw is saying maybe xmas for some people since there is no sawdust or shavings to make them-no mills producing the waste.Next year should be a different game since some new big mills should then be producing.Anyways,I'm running a drolet eco-45 which seems ok though they have had some issues with electronics.I just got a new auger motor on warranty though it took forever-I think the blame may lie with the dealer more than the manufacturer since they are new at this too.Heating someones house is important business-not quite like selling toasters.
  6. cdurost

    cdurost New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    upstate NY
    i bought a house with ef2i the stove worked great and the auger moter quit part #ef-001 replace from dealer. it still has 1 sec timer might be looking to update. we put new auger motor in and know i have it in the red zone and can't keep it going its not putting the qty of pelllets in the stove that it did last year. stove date is april of 1994. i by passed the dial as it said in the book and still qty of pellets in stove burns it self out the auger is spining sre the gears diffrant . i have cleaned and serviced stove as book said need help please
  7. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    have you times the feed times
    On and off is so what are they?

    and are you sure the auger motor is turning? it might be just trying to turn if you have a jam up in the auger.
    I pulled a nail out of auger last week. the motor was coming on but only turning a 1/8" then the thermo protection would kick in and shut off. over and over again
  8. Pellet1

    Pellet1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    The 3 second timer is what solved the feed problems on my EFI 3 stove. If yours is on for only 1 second, and the auger is actually turning, as was indicated by Stove Doc, then I would suggest getting the newer controller. I think there were some sources quoted earlier in the thread. I got mine thru a Canadian supplier, but it actually came from somewhere in NY state, I do believe.
  9. cdurost

    cdurost New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    upstate NY
    I have a ef2i does anyone have the auger timer part # from the maker not the
    evrio #ef-036 I have the 1sec timer # I talk to infrtec here in Syracuse
    and get it for
    49.95 from them instead of paying 105 .95 from the dealer can
    anyone help thanks
  10. Pellet1

    Pellet1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    If you look at the 1 sec timer that you presently have, and its part number is TRS51A11s2--------then the part that you would want is TRS51A13s2A The number following the first A is the time length. ie 3 vs 1 I took thos e numbers right off the box for the timer for my EF3i stove. Not sure about the EF2i

    I got my timer from infitec in Syracuse
  11. gutterboy2ca

    gutterboy2ca Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Loc:
    Hartland ,New Brunswick,Canada
    Yeah Pellet1 and I went thru all this crap last year, believe me its worth paying to get the 3 sec timer, i still feel it should have been changed undewr warranty by the dealer, but he said the 1 sec timer was not broke and Enviro wouldn,t cover it.Oh well, water under the Bridge.

    Attached Files:

  12. Caper

    Caper New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    Cape Breton
    Help needed.
    I have an Envirofire II that I bought used a number of years ago. I have always had problems with pellet feed rates. The fire would never burn very high. I have not used it much over the past few years. I now have continual auger jams.
    I have replaced the auger motor. Still no luck. With no pellets, the auger will take 90 secs for 1 revolution. I have read that most auger motors are rated for 1 rpm. It appears I may have a 1 sec timer as well. Any suggestions/help is appreciated.
  13. gutterboy2ca

    gutterboy2ca Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Loc:
    Hartland ,New Brunswick,Canada
    pull that puppy out and order a 3 sec timer and be done with it.I felt it should have been a factory recall/update,my dealer said hey, its not broken, so not covered.I ended up buying the timer from him at his cost(so he said) think was $80, take the part# off the above pictured 3 sec timer and take it to your local Enviro dealer to get one ordered.Can buy it direct from Infetec, but think was a min of 3 had to be purchased..
  14. Caper

    Caper New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    Cape Breton
    Definitely a 1 sec. timer. I will replace. Thanks for the advice.
  15. gutterboy2ca

    gutterboy2ca Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Loc:
    Hartland ,New Brunswick,Canada
    Anytime, feel free to PM with any questions or concerns.
  16. tomasulo

    tomasulo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    Canada
    Nice to see some other Enviro EF3 owners!! I have one, manufacture date 2006. I just set mine at 12 o'clock and timed the auger. It is running for 3 seconds, then off for 7 seconds.

    Since last winter, I ran into a similar issue of the fire going out, and it just did it again this morning. Last winter, I was using carry over pellets from the year before, now this year, I still am using some pellets that are two seasons old. I had a service tech here last week to check on it, and he said the old pellets could be causing a less than great burn. In the years prior, I could set the level to the lowest setting and it would never go out, with fresh pellets, now I am sure it would go out if I set it below 12 o'clock. Does anyone know if using old pellets would be a culperit? They have been stored in my basement on pallets, but I am afraid in the summer when the basement is damp that this may degrade the quality too??

    I have also been having issues with my auger squeeling. I emptied out the hopped and vacuumed the auger really good, which helped a bit. The service techs said that this can be due to leaving pellets in the hopper for extended periods when not in use and the fines jamming up the auger. Seems to be very loud upon starting then goes away when it warms up.

    Andrew in PEI, Canada
  17. gutterboy2ca

    gutterboy2ca Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Loc:
    Hartland ,New Brunswick,Canada
    Hey Amdrew, this model stove is pretty picky on settings,have you disassembled it in the firebox,removed the 3 rear panels and give it a good vacumn out?this should be done once a year at least,sounds like its not getting enough air.Make sure the Gasket is good where the ash pan seals against the stove, my wife has a habit of shoving the drawer in, and not turning the knob to lock it,giving an air leak, and lazy flame, stove will not stay going.Have you ever popped the Exhaust fan off,and give it a good cleaning in there.Don,t be affraid to strip her down for a good overall cleaning,then when your done with wifey, you can tackle the stove,lol.Sorry, that slipped out,haha.Holler if you have any questions
  18. tomasulo

    tomasulo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    Canada
    Thanks for the reply, I do the regular clean every week, and just had the service tech here last week for a full cleaning.
  19. turbotech

    turbotech Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Loc:
    NE
    Ya think they would have just used a timer with both the ON delay and OFF delay to be programmable and installed an external resistor for the ON delay.
    Has anyone taken apart their old timer and opened it up to change the resistor so that it does 3 sec instead of 1 sec?

    Too bad they used a "one shot" for the power control. If it wasn't for the power control timer needing a loss of power to restart then a simple Tstat could do on/off stove operation.
    I know it is an old thread, but good info just the same.
  20. controlsource

    controlsource New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Loc:
    Lewisville, TX
    We have the Infitec TRS51A11S2 and TRS51A13S2A in-stock by the way. We are an Infitec distributor.

    Dwayne Ray
    Control Source International
  21. enviro pyro

    enviro pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    lisle ontario
    i have an e3 pellet stove for about 16 years have replaced both fans several times and auger motor once. now my problem is the stove will start and run but shut off after 10 mins no matter how hot and well burning it is.my question is which temp sensor controls this shut down--the one on the exhaust or in the burn area?
  22. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,061
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    The POF it is against the exhaust blower housing on a lot of units and frequently if it is a ceramic unit it just needs to be cleaned. It could be bad but a simple wipe with a damp cloth can work wonders if it was dirty.
  23. enviro pyro

    enviro pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    lisle ontario
    thanks smokey! cleaned it off and its running fine again-appreciate the advice and quick response
    SmokeyTheBear likes this.

Share This Page