eureka pellet stove moment-left ash plug out

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by pete324rocket, Dec 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pete324rocket

    pete324rocket
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    6
    Loc:
    albert county, new brunswick
    I have an eco-45 by drolet - I know there doesn't appear to be too many others with this stove unfortunately,but I noticed from the very beginning that the draft control lacked any fine adjustment and for the most part,seemed to have way too much draft.I reasoned that with a short run of pellet pipe into a new stainless lined chimney might be the reason.
    Well mistakes can be the mother of invention because I just cleaned the stove and forgot to put the ash plug back in -it plugs a hole that leads to the ash pan below.Now I have total control over the fire-especially on the low setting where I could never get much of a flame. Now I 'm pretty sure that its not supposed to be run this way and theres no mention in the owners manual about this-do you suppose maybe it should be left out and I'm just a dummy? I'm trying it out to see how it performs.We've gone thru 60 bags of pellets so far-I was hoping for less-maybe this discovery will cut that a bit. pete
     

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Nickolai

    Nickolai
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    28
    Loc:
    Western Ontario
    I have the smaller version of that stove, the ECO-35 and was very curious as to where and what is supposed to happen with that plug exactly. So I just left it in, I haven't used the ash drawer, instead I just vacuum.
     
  3. pete324rocket

    pete324rocket
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    6
    Loc:
    albert county, new brunswick
    good to hear from another drolet owner - I came to the conclusion that the ash plug was meant to stay in to keep the stove running clean by comparison without using it.Hope you are having good luck with your stove.pete
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information