Excess draft problem

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

slofr8

Sep 19, 2006
Northern Maine
Hi everyone,
this is my first year in the new house and I put in a Hearthstone Heritage wood stove. I have about 12' of double wall pipe up to the ceiling and about 12' more of stainless prefab after that. Straight out of the top of the stove. No elbows. Hearthstone puts the max stove top temp. at 300-400 F. Well this is fine when out side tenps. are between 10F and 30F but lower than this and I lose control. At -10F stove top hits about 500F and the last few nights we had -15F to -20F. If I load the stove for over night burns she gets up to 600F+ with the damper shut all the way down.
As I see it, if I want to be able to control my fires at these temps. I can either install a flue damper or try to somehow restrict the air flow coming into the stove from the back. When I hold my hand over this intake hole I can really notice the fire calm down.
What would you do?
Thanks, Dan.

on a permant basis, i would put a damper it. If you modified the air imput, you could void the listing for the stove. Im not saying its not safe to restrict combustion air, im saying if you had a fire, then you would be in trouble.

Is installing a barometric damper absolutely against the rules for a non-cat stove like this? This seems like a perfect candidate.

no, i wit would be a perfect canadate. I was talking more in the line of making permanant modifications to the stove intake manafold.

Oh I know MSG, I wasn't responding to your post, I was just wondering.