expert advice ?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

catch22

Feb 27, 2011
nc
hello to all. sure looks like this site is full of wisdom, and people willing to help one another. nice and thanks ! while i am not new to burning, i am very new to the new stoves. i have a chance to buy a 3 year old hampton h300 stove and need expert advise. #1 the owner states the stove is in perfect cond. & wants 1500 $ obo. #2 is there certain things i should look for ? #3 do you think this to be a fair price for this stove ? i will see this stove tonight for the first time. again, thank you for your wisdom.

I am not familiar with Hampton stoves, but you will want to make sure there are no cracks or warped parts anywhere on the stove. If it has heat shields make sure they are intact and they have no grey spots on them, this would suggest it has been overfired. Make sure the door will open and close freely. You can take pics in and out of the stove and post them here, we like pictures!

catch22,

First off welcome to the forum !!!! This is a great site. I am sure someone familiar with that stove will chime in soon. I am unfamiliar with that particular unit but..... a few things I would do are...

1. Do some research on the Internet... oh wait you are here. Well see if you can find some reviews on line of the stove, or at least some dealer info on the stove.
2. Find out what the retail price of the stove is today if they still make it, and was 3 years ago when they bought it. Is the asking price high for a 3 year old stove ?