Falling creosote? #2, help a new forum member out. (welcome Okie!)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Okie

Jan 31, 2007
I'm new to this whole wood burning thing and now know I've been
burning too slow and cool. I know this from reading stuff that all you experienced
guys write. I recently have had the same thing in my stovepipe.
I cleaned it out and a few days later, the same thing.
I'm guessing that it could be buildup from my bad burning days.
Is there a way to find out if I'm continuing to build this stuff up.
Is there a danger of it igniting? Should I have my chimney cleaned.
My stove is a Lopi Patriot, not used for primary heat.
I'm clueless.

The only real way to tell for sure is to run a brush up and down and see what you get... Sounds like buildup of some sort, but hard to say without trying to clean it. As long as you run hotter, and try to get at least one good hot fire every day or so though, you probably won't have a big ignition risk.

Getting the chimney cleaned professionally won't hurt anything but your wallet, however it won't do much more than what you can do yourself if you are able to. The tools are a bit of an expense, but only about as much as one or two sweep visits. (Note that I'd still get a sweep to do an inspection every year or two just to make sure nothing has gotten damaged.)

Gooserider

Thanks. I'm just paranoid about burning my house down. I've cleaned the pipe from the stove to the chimney connector. I'll try to get to the rest of it soon.
I'll have to get the brushes first. I appreciate it.

Okie said: