Feeling my way with the F3 cb...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

FionaD

Feeling the Heat
Dec 20, 2013
Scotland
Hi,

I'm a stove newbie, with about 10 days worth of 'experience' so far. I am loving my stove and have learned so much from this forum, which I am devouring faster than my stove devours logs!

I feel I need to understand more about burn times generally and am hoping some fellow f3 folk or indeed anyone at all may be able to help out...

CIGAR BURNING LOGS
So, my understanding so far of how to achieve this is that, at the very end of a burn cycle, I rake all the last of the embers to the front of the stove, then put on a full load, with a smaller split at the front, partially sitting on the embers (I am loading the logs EW). My understanding is that this will give a longer, more gradual burn by progressively burning the logs from front to back...