1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Fire alarms and pellet stoves

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by md2002, Feb 22, 2012.

  1. md2002

    md2002 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Loc:
    United States
    This could just be a coincidence but since I've got my pellet stove my fire alarm has gone off twice in the middle of the night. I run down stairs and everything is fine. This happened this morning, it was a warm morning and the temp where the fire alarm is was 77 degrees! I'm just curious if this happens to other people. I don't think it's normal and it may just be the fire alarm is on it's way out but I thought I would ask.

    I searched on line and there were a few people with the same model fire alarm that have complained of false alarms so it may just be a coincidence that I started getting false alarms the same time I got my stove. These are hardwired alarms that are all tied together. They use ionization sensors if that means anything.

    Thanks

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. silverfox103

    silverfox103 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Loc:
    Littleton, NH
    It is detecting trace amounts of smoke. Check the vent pipe, make sure it is tight and joints sealed. Is you door gasket in good condition?

    I don't think the detector is the problem, it is doing it's job.

    Tom C.
  3. md2002

    md2002 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Loc:
    United States
    Will do.... The stove is new so I'm assuming the door gasket is in good shape. Since it was professionally installed, in January, I will be calling the installers and asking them to come out and take a look.
  4. VTrider

    VTrider Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    218
    Loc:
    Northern New England Burlington Vermont
    You should also have a carbon monoxide detector installed nearby as well, especially in light of your circumstances.
  5. md2002

    md2002 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Loc:
    United States
    I do.... 3 of them. I thought it was the CO detector went it went off but turned out it was the fire alarm.
  6. Krik

    Krik Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Loc:
    Windham ME
    When is the last time you vacuumed out the smoke alarm? Sometimes dust and/or insects get in and trip the detector, and unless you clean it, it may keep happening.

    As an aside, the newer dual sensor units (ionization + optical) are really nice, and - if I understand the research correctly - respond quicker overall. I just wish Kidde made dual sensor smoke + CO.
  7. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Your firebox is a negative pressure enviroment. If your door gasket was bad. No smoke would spill out. It would suck air in. The exhaust is the only.positive pressure point on the unit. If its leaking. Its at the back of the stove (adapter) or another joint in the vent system.

    X2 on new Smoke detectors. Better technology and faster reaction times.
  8. save$

    save$ Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,906
    Loc:
    Chelsea Maine
    But.........
    Is the stove on a thermostat? Does it shut down and start back up by the stat? If the stove shuts down, and the combustion fan cycles off, then there is no negative pressure and any smoldering pellets can off gas, smoke leaking out any open air passage.
  9. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,546
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    This also means you don't have any natural draft in your vent system.
  10. GrahamInVa

    GrahamInVa Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    513
    Loc:
    Eastern, Virginia
    If it were happening to me I would first check for smoke on start up. Use a flashlight and check your vent seams and stove adapter for smoke. If you don't see any I would replace the smoke alarm in question. That is a good place to start.

    The new smoke alarms are very sensitive. Dust and even high humility can set them off. I have issues with false alarms in the spring time with mine, especially if I sleep with the windows open.
  11. md2002

    md2002 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Loc:
    United States
    I do not have a thermostat and I just bought this house. When they inspected the fire alarms the fire dept. told me they were very good alarms, top of the line. Which is kind of why I asked the question. I thought maybe this was happening to other people but it doesn't seem like it is. I will snoop around and see what I can find.
  12. slls

    slls Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,457
    Loc:
    central maine Lat 45
    At burn in, my smoke alarm went off with no visible smoke, they do work.
  13. Chain

    Chain Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    285
    Loc:
    Lewis County, New York (upstate)
    Is the smoke alarm battery operated or direct wired? If battery only, you may want to change the battery as it could be getting low and actually setting of the alarm as a warning your battery is low. Some alarms operate this way.
  14. md2002

    md2002 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Loc:
    United States
    What do you mean "at burn in"?
  15. hoverfly

    hoverfly Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Loc:
    Southern NH
    Paint will leave an odder when curing when running the stove for the first time and a little bit every time you go up another heat level. Then there are stove parts may be covered in light oil to prevent rusting during shipping. That to my be burning off. So what you do is open a window and crank the mother up and let it rip for an hour or so.

Share This Page