Fireplace Damper question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

zman

Feb 2, 2007
gmail.com
Hi all,
I am a newb to this forum, and fireplaces. Please bear wit my ignorance. If this issue has been addressed please point me to the right forum. We bought a house that has an addition that was built several decades ago. It is a one story addition that connects ot the garage and has a med sized masonry fireplace in it. The chimney extends about 6-9 ft 9+/- or so above the roof. We are experiencing an unusually cold winter in Co. and we noticed that the throat damper does not close all the way. We were thinking of getting a Lyemance or locktop damper installed. The chimney has 3 chimney pots on the top of them ( at least that is what the diagrams are calling them) Will I need a damper for each of the three "pots". Will someone have to remove them and then install the damper? Presently it is an open fireplace, no glass doors.
Additionally, I am mulling over two long term fixes:
1. Install Lock-top/ Lymance, glass doors and a fireplace heater, fireback
2. Install lock-top/ Lymance and some sort of wood buring fireplace insert.

Other than placing the insert into the fireplace what else is involved in hooking it up. Does special piping need to be run from the insert to the top of the chimney?

TIA,
Zman