1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Fireplace insert causing gas furnace thermostat location problem

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by reed102, Oct 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. reed102

    reed102 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Loc:
    Greenville, Oh
    Installing a woodburning fireplace insert and I know it's going to cause a conflict with the gas furnace thermostat. The insert is not big enough to heat the whole house and we will be using the gas furnace to handle areas where the heat from the insert can not reach. A thought I have is to relocate the thermostat. Anyone else had to do this and what problems did you encounter.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. brian_in_idaho

    brian_in_idaho New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    157
    Loc:
    Jewel Lake (Sagle), Idaho
    As long as you have a spot that you want to locate it, somewhat distant from the stove, the install shouldn't be too bad. Like all wiring projects, it depends on what you need to do to run the wire to the new location. If you have access either below or above (attic or basement crawl-space), you can get some electrical boxes that clamp to the sheetrock to mount the thermostat.
  3. reed102

    reed102 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Loc:
    Greenville, Oh
    Fortunately, our home has a full basement and running wire does not present too much of a problem. I suppose there is some sort of a guide that heating and cooling people use on choosing the location best suited for a thermostat. I'll try to run down some websites cause I also have to consider the air conditioning in the summer.
  4. nshif

    nshif New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Loc:
    Pioneer, Ca (near Lake Tahoe)
    The best place for a thermostat is usually near the cold air return. What you might do if you want to experiment is get 50 or 75 feet of wire (its cheap), hook it up the the furnace and just run the wire through the house and experiment with different locations with the stove running.
  5. reed102

    reed102 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Loc:
    Greenville, Oh
    That is an excellent suggestion, thank you. One thing I just found while surfing the net are wireless thermostats. Might look more into those. Thanks again you have been very helpful.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page