Fireview smokey first fire

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

greenhat

Dec 26, 2010
NJ
Hello everyone!

My first post on this super helpful site.

I'm a complete wood stove noob, so please take it easy on me :)

After doing a lot of research (mostly on this fine site), I just got my first stove - Woodstock Fireview . I struggled to find someone local to install it, so installed it myself.

Today was the first fire.. it was going well at first - i checked the draft and it seemed decent. Started the fire with some newspaper and kindling..threw in a small split or two... had damper on 4 at first; but, switched it to 2 as soon as the fire got going (as the manual suggests).... waited for over an hour , and the stove top temps were not going above 150.. kept feeding the fire with one more small split at a time when i saw the wood inside burning up.. 2 hours passed, still have not even reached 200.... so, i tried to add a bunch of wood in - 3 medium size split pieces.... in a few minutes the fire got serious and smoke started coming out of the stove.. mostly it was smoking around the flue and 90 degree elbow...

I have a few guesses of what could be the problem, but these are just guesses:

1. it's a new stove and the smoke is just fumes from new paint.
(in the manual it just states that it will smell bad, says nothing about smoke)

2. i did not connect the 90 elbow with the flue properly and / or the rest of the connector pipes..