Fireview

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

irishfan

Oct 9, 2014
Southern Michigan
Hi,

This is my first post on this forum and I am a newbie to wood burning. I bought my current house 2 years ago and the people we bought the house from had a pellet stove which they took with them.
This year I purchased a woodstock fireview. I connected the stove with single wall pipe. There is a clay flue that goes through the wall and up the chinmey. I've cleaned the flue out really well and have alrealy lit 5 fires.

My question is: Is the clay flue safe to burn in or should I be looking for some type of liner? The flue is in great shape I've look down the chinmey and cannot see any cracks or gaps in the flue.

Thanks for your help!

I would also thoroughly read the manual for the stove about venting installation.

Welcome.

I would have the flue inspected by a certified sweep with a camera. There may be cracks in the flue or mortar joints you can't see. This should help you locate one.
http://www.csia.org/

There is nothing wrong with a properly sized, clay lined flue in good condition. If it works for you, great, but a properly sized, insulated stainless steel liner will likely work better. It is safer, easier to clean, and will keep the flue gasses warmer, which will leave less creosote buildup.