Firewood addiction?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mole

Oct 23, 2008
Western NY
I've been burning wood for 98%+ of my heat for 23 years now. I only have about 4 acres of woods, not enough to supply my needs, so it has become ingrained in me to gather firewood whenever the opportunity arises. I typically remove trees for neighbors and friends. They get rid of the trees for free. I get the wood. Everyone wins. The last 3-4 years, the wood has been accumulating. Make hay while the sun shines, as they say. I didn't think much of it. But now I'm starting to wonder... I have two wood sheds which are full with a combined 10-1/2 cords. I used 3-1/2 cords last winter for heat plus DHW. So I'm all set for next winter to say the least. Now more rows are starting to build outside the wood shed again. I know I'm all set, but I don't seem to be able to say "no" to free wood. Do I need counseling? Is there anyone else out there with the same affliction? Is this OCD?

Well we all know you are sick but that is besides the point! I think the tendency to hoard hard found/needed items is normal. Especially if you have ever gone through any financial hard times. Which I am sure we all have. The news announced yesterday that the Fed is going to quadruple the tax on oil to help pay for the oil spill. I say take all you can get!!