first electric bill with pellet stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

capecod

Feb 22, 2008
"on Cape"
WOW! Newbie here ...just got this month's bill and it is $100 higher using the pellet stove! I never expected that! I have it on 24/7, but I didn't expect 100 more! Is this normal?
thanks in advance

I've never had a $100 electric bill, even in the summer with AC! I have gas hot water and dryer. Highest in the summer was about $90.

capecod said:
WOW! Newbie here ...just got this month's bill and it is $100 higher using the pellet stove! I never expected that! I have it on 24/7, but I didn't expect 100 more! Is this normal?
thanks in advance

Just a thought. is that an estimated every other month bill?

You're saying your electric bill is $100 over what it
usually costs you this time of year?

Even when I run the stove 24/7 in a month and I mean 24/7 only
shutting down for a 24 hour period to clean once a month,
my bill is about $30 more than without the stove.

You might be right about the neighbor... Only kidding. just got off the phone with a customer service person from the electric co. They made a mistake on my electric bill and over charged me. I actually will end up paying less because I used less electricity. WHEW!
Merry Christmas to all, except my electric company!
and thanks for the quick responses!
ps i love my harman p68 !