First Ever Wood Score!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

msjones2452

Feb 23, 2015
Denver CO
Well, technically speaking, I've gotten wood for free before. When I was still using my masonry fireplace, I got about a dozen small logs from my neighbor and my dad gave me some applewood when he trimmed up a tree. BUT, this is my first attempt at getting free wood since installing the HI400!!!! In a week I was able to get three truckloads + small trailer of Elm, two truckloads of Pine, a load Honey Locust and a mix load of Ash and Honey Locust. I'm pretty happy! Of course, I still have to get it all CSS but I don't think it's a horrible start.

Here's a few pics:

April Matt cell phone 2015 150.jpg April Matt cell phone 2015 151.jpg

White Ash and HL? Hard to beat that for a first score! :cool: Have you got something drier for this winter, though? That Ash might not be too bad by then, but 2 years is great. That HL, no way for at least 2 yrs, 3 would be ideal. My BIL is outta wood so we are grabbing small, dead stuff with the bark off. A lot of it is already under 20%.

Reactions: Gboutdoors
White Ash and HL? Hard to beat that for a first score! :cool: Have you got something drier for this winter, though? That Ash might not be too bad by then, but 2 years is great. That HL, no way for at least 2 yrs, 3 would be ideal. My BIL is outta wood so we are grabbing small, dead stuff with the bark off. A lot of it is already under 20%.