First Post - Energy King 385 EK Recent Installation.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Bryan1986

Dec 30, 2010
Hi Everyone,

I recently installed an Energy King 385 EK into my 1600 sq ft house (1600 sq ft upstairs, full basement). I have been using it for a couple of months now, and I have to say I am very disappointed. I only burn well seasoned dry red oak, and I can only get a burn time of 4-5 hours, I have to clean my chimney every couple of weeks, and it does not get the house above 66*F. I would assume it is sized correctly for my house, as it is rated for a 2000 sq ft. The wood furnace is rated at 125,000 btus, and my propane furnace is rated at 115,000 btus.

Here are a couple of pictures of my set up, I have back draft dampers in both plenums. I will get the same results no matter if I have it hooked up to my ductwork or not, same 66* in the house.

One of my concerns is that possibly the blower on the back of the furnace does not move enough air to properly cool down the heat exchangers in it. Once I get it going, the fan limit switch will stay at a constant 130*F, and it will not cool it down anymore than that, so once I get a fire going in it, the blower will not turn off until it is out.

Anyways, maybe someone with a similar set up can help me out here, and tell me what I am doing wrong, or is this furnace really that terrible?

2010-12-16_21-10-46_15.gif

2010-12-16_21-10-24_749.gif

2010-12-16_21-10-12_351.gif

Bryan,
I have no idea why the stove is doing what it is doing.