first time poster-looking to possibly buy an insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Bocefus78

Minister of Fire
Jul 27, 2010
Just Outside Indy
New guy here....I am a landscaper and this year I have stumbled upon a ton of free firewood thanks to some bad storms/wind. Good wood at that. Ash and Oak. I use some of it in the smoker but I have been giving most of it to friends that heat w/ wood but now I am thinking of purchasing a WB insert. I priced a Regency 1200 (I think it was--the smallest one) yesterday and for the unit, blower, liners, connections, etc, it was rougnly $3500. Does this seem right? I know about the tax credit from reading here. I do not want to install myself.

What are some other units comparable to the regency 1200 that you all would reccomend. 1800sq 2 story home. Main level where the unit will be is only 800. I was honstly looking to spend around $2000 all said and done . At $3500, I would have to burn for 6 years to recoup my losses for the intiial purchase. I am not sure I will be in this house that long. I live alone and keep it at 67 in the winter. Heat bills are usually around $160-180/ month at that temp. I would like to turn it up, but dont want the bill that accompanies it.

I could ramble on for hours but I will shut up and listen.