First timer wood pile. (Pictures)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Bwhunter85

Feeling the Heat
Hearth Supporter
Aug 21, 2010
Sunfield, MI
This is my first year owning a wood burner and cutting, splitting, and stacking wood. I have a lot to do before next winter, but this is what I have done so far. Will the full rounds season the way they are in picture, or should be split now? I was waiting until they dry out a bit more.

I can't seem to use photobucket to put a direct link into my album.

Attachments

• woodpile.png
    woodpile.png
    95 KB · Views: 895
They will certainly dry eventually. Are you looking to use them for this coming winter? Is there a reason you are waiting to split. They will absolutely dry faster the smaller the pieces are (i.e splits). Good start though. This is my 1st year too. This past winter I had just moved in and had to purchase wood.

Like intheswamp said get it split and it will dry faster.

Zap

if you are storing wood, it might as well be split. Seasoning doesn't really start til split.

Dont take this out of context, but in the time waiting for a machine this could have been split and stacked already. Even a novice would have learned much in that time frame. Dont depend on some one or something to do your work is all Im saying.

Start swinging that maul. That wood can be split by hand and the sooner the better. Fall is on the way.

Most wood seems to get a bit harder to split as it dries....except maybe elm. :-S

I'd at least try to bust those big rounds in half...but if you bust'em in half you might as well quarter them...