first timer

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mmackin

Oct 7, 2008
NE Ohio
Hi Everyone,

I'm moving into a 1940's house (read..poor insulation) near Akron, OH and I'd like to put in a free standing wood stove. I'm a plumber with 3 mouths to feed so I don't have the cash for a IR or somethinge new. I'm hoping to pick one up on Craigslist and make it work...is that crazy or what?

Here are the details:
1500 sq ft. house
1.5 stories
bath, 2 bedrooms kithchen and living room on first floor.
kitchen and living room has open design
current fireplace located in front corner of house in living room.
I'll be doing the demo/rebuild of the chimney (which I have to learn about first) (I've worked with thin gauge flue pipe and some double wall before (as a plumber) but I've never put in a back stop or anthing.
oh...windows are old too.
oh...and...the house currently a has forced air furnace.

What else...I'm going to wait until next april to start so I'll have all summer to get it right.

What size should I shoot for?
How do I learn about rebuilding the chinmey?

thanks for all your help!

mike