First Wood Harvest

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

teekal

Nov 28, 2014
Manitoba, Canada
Hey guys. A month or so ago I posted a thread about fallen trees in my brother-in-law's farmland, over the Christmas Break (I'm a teacher) I went out with my Dad to check it out and harvest some wood.

It's a nice piece of land right along the river, with easy access from the road (and a short drive across the field). I was pleasantly surprised to see just how much land there is - probably enough free wood for my entire lifetime...

20141227_140935.jpg

20141227_141138.jpg

On the first day we just loaded up the following onto my Dad's short-box pickup:

20141227_140646.jpg

I set up a nice station to split the wood in my back yard... pushing the boundaries of the -20 degree limit for using the splitter, but it seemed to do fine and I wasn't out for too long.

20141228_143306.jpg

It definitely seemed like a lot more wood than this, but I guess that's the way she goes...

20141228_144552.jpg

on New Year's Day, I took my 4-year old son and my Dad back out, along with a second truck, and we spent 2-3 hours collecting wood. This was a great day.

20150101_151236.jpg

20150101_151245.jpg

As it was colder the next day, and I had a lot more wood to split this time around, I set up a workstation in my garage and then hauled the split wood to the back afterwards.

20150102_135850.jpg

This is more like it...

20150102_161106.jpg