FLIR shots of my new Vulcan stirling stove fan

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

aries339

Dec 22, 2010
Chicago Area
I just set up my new Vulcan stove fan and took a few FLIR shots so I figured I'd share them! The plain-color shot is just for perspective.

For reference, the limit of my IR camera is 518 degrees F. So the white areas in the shot are "at least" 518 degrees. The fan is in motion and has been operating for about 15 minutes when I shot these.

I was surprised at the temperature difference just between the bottom of the base and the top of the base. Anyway, I'm not an expert on stoves, FLIR, or fans so I don't have any further analysis. Enjoy the pics. :p

1.JPG 2.jpg fan from behind.jpg fan from the front.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: evilgriff
Interesting. Thanks for the pics.

I just set up my new Vulcan stove fan and took a few FLIR shots so I figured I'd share them! The plain-color shot is just for perspective.

For reference, the limit of my IR camera is 518 degrees F. So the white areas in the shot are "at least" 518 degrees. The fan is in motion and has been operating for about 15 minutes when I shot these.

I was surprised at the temperature difference just between the bottom of the base and the top of the base. Anyway, I'm not an expert on stoves, FLIR, or fans so I don't have any further analysis. Enjoy the pics. :p

View attachment 79904View attachment 79905View attachment 79906View attachment 79907