Flue Liner and Stove Pipe

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rawfdawg

Jan 17, 2016
Chillicothe, Ohio
Hello,

I am a novice add-on wood furnace burner. This is the first year I have used it, and I have quickly discovered it is not as simple as just adding wood to a firebox. I bought a house which had a Johnson Energy Systems J-9900 add-on wood furnace. I had a chimney sweep inspect the flue. It turns out the clay tile had a crack. The chimney sweep noticed that the tile was oriented the wrong direction in the chimney. This would complicate the install. The chimney sweep installed a 304 rectangular flex liner. He sealed off the original location, and and put the thimble with the wide side of the liner. Because of this, he did not use black stove pipe as the connector from the wood furnace to the chimney flue. It appears he used a round flexible flue liner as as substitute for black stove pipe.

Chimney.JPG
Flue Liner.JPG

DSCN2116.JPG

My concerns are:

1) Is this safe? I am concerned that it may produce toxic fumes? Notably, from nickel and chromium. And secondly, is it acceptable not to use black stove pipe? I have researched installation manuals for 304 liners, but I can't find anything where it specifically states where it can't be used as stove pipe. The thinness of the liner concerns me. And no where can I find flexible black stove pipe. I don't think it exists.