1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Flue temps with probe vs. surface temp

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by ddahlgren, Jan 23, 2013.

  1. ddahlgren

    ddahlgren Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    475
    Loc:
    SE CT
    All good advise it is 11 degrees and burning away again to stay warm will do the fab work to get this installed tomorrow time to burn some wood and heat the house right now. Stack thermometer tomorrow!

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. dentman4411

    dentman4411 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    could you point me in the direction of that intel? i looked all over the duravent spec sheet couldnt find it. thanks :)
  3. dentman4411

    dentman4411 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    So in order to maintain that level after your (I'm) in cat mode, do I add air to the mix? i measure with a Ryobi IR meter single wall 18" above stove and I just measured 250 degrees... BUT when i checked the connector where the single black wall meets the triple wall its 170. thats a problem then....
  4. ddahlgren

    ddahlgren Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    475
    Loc:
    SE CT
    dentman4411 likes this.
  5. ddahlgren

    ddahlgren Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    475
    Loc:
    SE CT
    Tried for a long burn but following the instructions with the stove of having a very nice bed of coals could only get 3 medium splits in before it lit off and not sticking my hand in there glove or not..
  6. Joful

    Joful Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6,551
    Loc:
    Philadelphia
    For one, you're measuring outside temperatures, not the temperature of gasses going thru the chimney. Secondly, I suspect that in any tall chimney, there's almost always a portion at the top where gasses are going to condense on the wall. The evidence of that is the creosote you brush out each spring. It's an interesting discussion to keep us entertained on a cold night, but I wouldn't lose sleep over it.
  7. blwncrewchief

    blwncrewchief Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    166
    Loc:
    Northern, IN
    Usually run about 450-550 probe on cruse dropping down to 250-300 by reload time. Maybe 600-700 on start up, I try to keep it under 800 as by 800 is when it tries to take off. The numbers I get with the probe are approximately 1.5-4X surface readings.

Share This Page