Flush Wood Burning Insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

hkassnser

Apr 2, 2016
Massachusetts
Hello. I am new to wood burning inserts, but we wanted to get one for our existing fireplace. We need our chimney rebuilt and flu's lined before this can happen, and while that is being done will have one installed. We like the flush wood burning inserts and through my research on my own I have found many brands and options to research and want opinions and advice. A plus is if there is one that exists to have a safety screen over the glass for the young children in our house. The ones I want more information or reviews on are:
Vermont Castings Montpelier
Quadra-Fire Voyageur
Quadra-Fire Voyageur Grand
Enviro Cabello 1700
Regency Alterra
Regency Pro Series
Travis Industries Flush Wood Plus Insert
Supreme Volcano Plus
Pacific Energy NEO 2.5 Insert
Napoleon Oakdale EP13
Hearthstone Clydesdale 8491

Thanks!

What's the dimensions on your fireplace? That may eliminate some. All those have reviews on the forum if you want to get more info on each.

I'm trying to help my daughter and educate myself about selecting an insert, so hopefully the insert people will chime in with the do's and don'ts. Hope I'm not stealing the thread. I'm a seasoned wood stove burner just need to understand what inserts are all about. Questions.
Are inserts as efficient as free standing wood stoves? Are the BTU outputs similar?
Are the flex chimney hard to keep clean? Does the chimney weed to be flex type?