Found Cherry pits at big box...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

champscorner

Sep 7, 2009
Midwest Ohio
if anyone's interested. Went to the local lowes today to buy some durock board as I'm building my hearth pad for my new stove. While at Lowes I went to check to see what kind of pellets they carry and they had Pres to logs and said that was all they planned to carry this winter. So not being satisfied with this I dropped by my local TSC to see what they carried, which they had Somerset, but right next to them were a skid of cherry pits. I'm new to this whole thing but didn't think it was very common for a big box to carry cherry pits so I snagged up a couple of bags. Of course I can't burn them yet and will undoubtedly burn pellets for awhile while I'm first starting up to get use to things, but I have them anyway. I talked to the sales clerk and he stated that they may continue to carry them depending on how sales go. He said they have had quite a bit of interest but people are just buying them to test them out so far. They seem to be a little more expensive than pellets but I'm not sure if that's because they are harder to find or if this is the typical rate for something like this. Anyway here is the info: They come in a plain white 30 # bag(pretty thick) @ $5.49 a bag, they are made from Triple D. Orchards, Inc, out of Empire, Michigan 49630, phone # 866- 781-9410 or 231-326-5174. That is everything listed on the label. Anyone ever burn these?