Free Spruce Logs...should I?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jmhpsu93

Nov 11, 2008
Baltimore, MD
Saw an ad on Craigslist for free delivered Spruce logs...

4-6 ft length, 8-12 inches in diameter

I'm new to using a chainsaw (well, it's been a long time anyway...). I figure it would be a good intro to using and processing my own wood.

Wadda ya think?

I would probably not go to the trouble cutting down prouce to burn, but I would not pass up free logs delivered to my yard. Spruce is considered to be low quality wood for burning, but I also burn a lot of tulip poplar which is also a much maligned wood. You're in Baltimore so most of the winter you are not dealing with freezing temps. I'd take the spruce and use it during the day, the shoulder seasons, 40 degree nights, etc. Jst know that you are not gogin to get long burns out of it. Free wood is good.

I'd take it and cut it up. IMO every wood has a time and a place, especially if it's free. I'm even burning box elder during this January thaw, and I'll do the same on warm days in March and April. I've never burned any spruce except for scraps, but it can't be that much worse than box elder.

Spruce burns just fine, if its free and delivered? then thats hard to argue with. Its still free heat right?

MMandm said:

I'm new to using a chainsaw (well, it's been a long time anyway...). I figure it would be a good intro to using and processing my own wood.

Wadda ya think?

Free?

Delivered?

Is this a trick question?

MMandm said:

Wadda ya think?

I want them but he wont deliver to harford county....I say get'em