Freestanding Blaze King Princess 1980??? Something Help needed !

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

whitewolf643

Nov 7, 2008
Eastern WA
Ok I'm new to the wood burning world but due too finances I'm stuck. My lanlord got this stove for our house since I cannot afford oil. Who can. Anyways this thing was in bad shape. the inside top was warped. I think you call it over burn. That is mild too say the least. So I read & read on this stove. Had it installed right and then a guy locally here who I found out is welder took the stove and basically put in a new ceiling in it with diamond plate. He blew this out from top too bottom and repaired all the cracks he found on the side. Great welder really. My issue is from reading here ( thank God for you guys ! ) Is he removed the rod ( said it was warped beyond use ) that hook from the draft door and kept the front doors locked. My question is does that rod control the Cat ??? I keep reading about opening the Cat and closing the Cat.I can find no other levers ( Lord I hate sounding stupid ) That control anything but the draft door or the doors.
I know I need too replace the Cat and The seals on the door but is it useless if this rod is gone ??
Any help would be appreciated cause this is one finicky stove and I'm trying too get it too be safe too use again.