Frozen Woodworker Seeking Advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

WoodShrew

Nov 15, 2014
Portland, Oregon
Hello, this is my first post here and I am very thankful to have found this site full of folks who know what they are talking about, because I have discovered that I do not.

I'm a woodworker in Portland, Oregon and have very happily just moved into my own shop, just in time for the first cold snap of the changing season, I'm freezing my proverbial balls off.

I've been scrounging through CL for a used wood stove but I'm completely baffled in what qualities and quality of stove I should be seeking, there is just too much to chose from. My shop is roughly 1000sf with a concrete floor and a hearth and flue already in place. The flue ports out the wall (please pardon my terminology, I'm new here) at about 4' high. I work primarily with very dense hardwoods and would be burning lots of small offcuts. I work long days and it's getting pretty darn cold so I can't let myself end up with something janky that I will end up burning out in a few months of hard use.

I am currently bartering with two folks selling stoves, one is a Federal Airtight in fabulous condition and the other is an Earthstove Blaze Princess also in great condition (my dad had one just like it when I was little). Are either of these good candidates for my shop? In your individual opinions what should I be looking for and would you have any brand/style/age choices for such a space?

Thank you very much for your time and advice.
Kate

Reactions: dafattkidd