Fuel consumption log / prediction models

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

OverlookEGR

Jan 21, 2015
Ashford ny
I've been using my pellet stove for less than a full season, but being an engineer, I MUST collect and analyze the data!

Now my specific situation is simple in some ways, but complicated in others.

Simplified:
1. Only have burned one kind of pellets.
2. Have used room temp mode almost exclusively and do not adjust it. The room our stove is in is usually around 68*F

Complicated:
1. The stove does not heat the entire house very well.
2. We have an oil fueled boiler that also would not heat the entire house very well.
3. The heated house area of each respective heating system does not overlap very much.
4. We use the oil heat periodically when we have company over and sometimes just because we are tired of the extremities of the house being cold!

Anyway, I have been burning keystone hardwood pellets that I picked up for $225 per ton, before tax, delivered.

I have discovered the heating degree day concept and find that to be a great way to track fuel heat consumption in relation to the temperature. So here are my data points so far. Reported monthly. (I figure the process is rough enough, reporting monthly gives me a nice average)

September. 108 HDD, 4 bags burned, 1.48 lbs per HDD.
October, 359 HDD, 13 bags burned, 1.45 lbs/HDD
November, 809 HDD, 37 bags, 1.83 lbs/HDD
December, 969 HDD, 44 bags, 1.82 lbs/HDD
January, 1373 HDD, 56 bags, 1.63 lbs/HDD