Full cord? Really?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jaydee

Apr 11, 2010
north GA
Hello,

I'm a newbie, trying to get a wood supply well before next winter. I just ordered my first cord.

It's hardwood, mainly oak. I didn't want to have to stack it twice, so I stacked it loosely to dry over the summer.
The pieces have some cracks along their sides, but needs more time to dry, I believe. The wood guy says they will need the summer to be ready.

Here's a few pictures. Width: 5 feet Height: no more than 44 inches Number of stacks: 7 (including the half-height one)

So, did I get taken? I'm thinking so. And if so, by approximately what percent?
I am trying to get an established contact, and this guy has been in the business locally for years and years.
I didn't feel comfortable insisting that he stack it for me. That is a lot of time for which he's not being paid. Either he's honest and we continue our business or I look elsewhere, for someone who will deliver/stack or pick up where I can see the stock and designate what I get.

Thanks for your feedback.

Attachments

• P1050011.jpg
    P1050011.jpg
    30.2 KB · Views: 1,296
  • P1050013.jpg
    P1050013.jpg
    54.2 KB · Views: 1,268
looks a little shy. How long are the splits?

Looks like a cord to me, assuming you are not measuring the height from the ground but rather from the stringers. If they were stacked 4 feet high, you'd need 24 feet of well ranked row. You have 30 feet plus that half stack so that makes up for being shy of 4 feet high and the end stacks being loose.