Full or empty ash pan?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Scott2373

Nov 9, 2011
Williamson, New York
I read on this forum that some people fill their ash pan with sand and never use it, or let it fill and don't empty it. One dealer told me to let it fill, but another dealer told me that the other one wants to sell me lots of grates because it will warp if you don't empty it...I'm at a loss here. I'm new to being a wood stove owner, so I don't know which way to go. I've also read that many users on here like to keep a minimum of 2" of ash on the bottom of their stove due to it's insulating properties. Therefore I'm depending on the cumulative expertise here on this forum. My Rangeley has a nice ash grate and big ash pan beneath it. So should I fill 'er up or keep emptying it? Thanks in advance for all the replies!

I've seen that about the insulation too, but I don't understand it. Maybe it depends on what's under your stove? My stove has a lot of thermal mass under it, so I figure heat that radiates out the bottom is a good thing. The ash pan is also very convenient. It was definitely a factor in our recent decision to purchase a Jotul 400 over some of the other choices.

Have you used it yet? Do you like the thing or not? If you like it, use it as designed.

pen

Scott2373 said:
So should I fill 'er up or keep emptying it?
I imagine results may vary depending on stove. Try it both ways and let us know.
I've tried both ways with mine and there was a definite difference, pluses and minuses to each (due to mine being a downdraft stove).