Garn vs outside wood boiler

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Fredman

Dec 22, 2007
U.P. Michigan
I would like to know if any of you had a outside wood boiler and switched to a Garn? I have a Wood Master and it is fine except for the smoke. I have a 1500sq. ft. and 1 1/2 car garage that I am heating, poorly insulated, but working on that. I go thru 12 cords of firewood a year. Would I use less than that with a garn?

Hi Fredman. Welcome to the Boiler Room. I get to the U-P on business occasionally and just love it. Ski and Sauna.

I think you'd use about half as much wood with a Garn or other gasifier in an outdoor location. I have an EKO in a cinderblock boiler room in my barn, and it works really well. I replaced an old conventional indoor boiler that was probably as inefficient as an OWB, and I've noticed a big difference between the two. Along with smokefree operation, I get a lot more heat out of the same amount of wood. We're burning more than half as much wood, but heating a lot more space and keeping it warmer, longer.

The only gasifier you can buy right now that comes ready-to-install outside is the BioMax being sold by http://www.newhorizoncorp.com. I've heard that Econoburn is about ready to start selling an outdoor version of their gasifier: http://www.alternativefuelboilers.com/faq.htm.

There are probably a dozen other brands of gasifiers available, including the Garn, and at the moment they all require some sort of building or other enclosure if you're going to put them outside. But I expect that to start changing pretty soon.