Gasifier Choice, Need help guys

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

usmarinesam

Sep 16, 2008
Palmyra, NY
hi, fella's
i'm new to the boiler room and have some questions regarding choosing a boiler. let me start with a little info, i have a 1890 3,000 sq ft farm house with poor to mild r-value. i have been heating with an old but well maintained oil boiler that supplies hw baseboard heat to 3 circulating pumps for 3 zones. the system is also hooked up to a 1979 American Central brand wood boiler that isn't very efficent due to a crack in the water jacket. i have both units in the basement that vent into a very nice double flue block chimney. actually used the wood boiler before i knew about the crack and until it was running hot it actually heated ok, kept house around 78 deg. , no problem but used wood and polluted the air due to conventional design. i live in country no natural gas available, and i was thinking about heating my 40x40 workshop also with this new boiler, but price depending if i'm going to spend 15 thou, misewell go with geothermal.