getting good hot coals

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lunk30

Nov 15, 2008
North Shore MA
Looking for advice on getting a good burn going..... I was told that getting a good hot bed of coals going is most important.... What is the best way to get this? This is my first year with a wood burner (englander add on furnace) and somedays i get a pretty good bed of coals going and sometimes not .... Im not sure what I doing right or wrong.... Thanks in advance for any help!

lunk30 said:
Looking for advice on getting a good burn going..... I was told that getting a good hot bed of coals going is most important.... What is the best way to get this? This is my first year with a wood burner (englander add on furnace) and somedays i get a pretty good bed of coals going and sometimes not .... Im not sure what I doing right or wrong.... Thanks in advance for any help!

build up from small to large. pile it up.. paper.. cardboard.. small kindling.. bigger kindling.. small splits. Stay away from the larger splits until you burn that into some hot coals.

Very likely comes down to a careful balance of your wood (seasoning and/or moisture content), reloading cycle time, and air settings... But I'd look at the wood first.

lunk30 said:

Hey lunk30, welcome to the forum.