Getting logs off a big pile

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Block Inlay

Nov 18, 2014
Taxachusetts
Hi all

I'm brand new to cutting and splitting wood. The house we just bought has an older HS Tarm boiler and we got 5 or 6 cords of really nice seasoned and split wood with the house. So I've been getting to know the Tarm and it has been running great for about a month now.

Looking ahead to next year, I got a really good deal on a truck load of hardwood logs. Some of them are monsters and the pile they left is a bit tangled up.

I haven't gotten to work yet but I'm wondering what's the best way to go about getting logs off the top of the pile? Or should I try and move one or two lower than the top (and stay outta the way)?Looks like a cant hook will be very Useful. If anyone has any tips I'd appreciate it.

I have no intention of getting up on top of the pile to move anything. Looks like a broken leg (or worse) just waiting to happen. Also, I don't own any type of winch and would like to try and avoid buying one.

I can put up pics of the pile if that helps. Here's the truck load:

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1419211863.763558.jpg

I would just start sawing from the outside and work your way in.

Reactions: Hogwildz
Do you mean leave the logs in place and start bucking the ends that are sticking out?

Yes. Unless it is stacked dangerously high, you should be able to cut your way in. I didn't see any really big logs on that truck either.

Yes. Unless it is stacked dangerously high, you should be able to cut your way in. I didn't see any really big logs on that truck either.