Getting Max Stove Temps.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Nov 5, 2010
North MS
I have a Morso 2110 and this is my first year of running it. The question I have is; will I be able to get my temps up in the stove the more seasoned the wood is? I cut dead oaks last year and some hickory in planning for this season. The wood is in pretty good shape but I know some of it has not been completely seasoned.
I can get the stove up to 500, and a time or two just a little over that, but I would like to be able to run it around 550. Right now it is taking some pretty close attention and effort to get it to that stage. So can I expect to get that top temp much easier the more seasoned my wood is?

You are correct. Seasoned wood is easier to work with. You will be able to reach 500 without any issues with seasoned wood. What happens is your stove wastes a good amount of energy turning that water to steam so it can burn the wood. Less water/less energy wasted cooking it off.

Matt

Unless you have other issues, my chimney draws well but not as much as I would like, it keeps me from hitting much above 600 or so, my wood is all below 20% with some at 12%.