Getting the right length when cutting.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dtabor

Feb 8, 2007
Lake Elmore, VT
Not sure if this is the right forum for this question or not......

Im relatively new to cutting my own wood. I was wondering what the easiest way is to cut your logs to the correct length when blocking them up for splitting? Do you guys actually measure/mark the logs or just eyeball it? Ive tried the eyeballing but seem to get them too long. If I try to force myself shorter, they seem to be WAY short!! Maybe Im just inept at this?? hehe

I tried marking a stick and laying it on the log but that seems to just add a step in there slowing me down. At my other house it was a wood furnace so they could be pretty long and still fit in there.

Thanks ahead for any tips you may have!!

D

I usually use the bar on my saw as a guide. I will hold the saw parallel to the limb and eyeball where the bar ends, using that as my guide.

That's the way I do it, too. I measure the distance from the tip of my bar to as far back on the body of the saw that I want to go, then make a mark or a mental note. Usually it's right around the bar retention nuts.

I measure with a tape measure and mark with a hatchet. That way if the log is not a multiple of 15 I can get relatively even pieces instead of having 4 or 5 inches left over.

Here is what I do when I what to get a little less variation in length.