Glow Boy FGB Classic Freestanding

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Bleed4Me

Oct 30, 2012
Im new to a forum concept and honestly new to pellet stoves. Bought a house and there it was. If I use incorrect terms while trying to explain my problem please forgive me and feel free to correct me. I tried to fire up my stove and nothing happened, auger doesnt engage...exhaust fan doesnt turn...nothing happens at all. Below I will list things I have done and things the manufacturer has told me to do.

1. Removed pellets from hopper, looked for any jams and cleaned out hopper completely.No Jams

2.Tested the auger motor by jumping it. Auger works great.

3. Took the clean out tee cap off and cleaned the insides and vacuumed. Clean as a whistle. The pipe does a slight 45 degree angle then goes through the roof, and I havent checked that part yet.

4.Check the vacuum switch for continuity. If I suck in slightly on the hose I get continuity. Even checked it while the stove is on and get no continuity. I clearly have a air flow problem here.

5. Bypassed the vacuum switch altogether and jumped the two wires, auger turns on just fine, no exhaust fan though.

6. changed the vacuum hose.

7. Was told the high limit switch should be closed and it is , fan limit should be open and it is, low limit switch should be open and it comes out closed when checked with a multimeter. Firguring that was my problem child disconnected one lead and turned on the stove, still nothing.

8. Test the exhaust fan by jumping it, works great.